Hope For Us

by Adrian Krygowski

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Adrian Krygowski accompanies his audience on a journey, both musically and figuratively, with his new EP ‘Hope for Us”. The record, at turns buoyant in love and resolute in the face of hardship, epitomizes how the singer-songwriter’s life on the road has informed his passionate brand of storytelling. His songs conjure the punkinflected folk of The Avett Brothers and the “Americana Soul” of Delta Spirit, while his inimitable vocal cadence draws comparisons to Bob Dylan and The Hold Steadyʼs Craig Finn. The EP was produced by Split Rock Records' Ed Petterson and features the vocal talents of acclaimed singer- songwriter Garrison Starr, and keyboard/piano sounds of Bettye Lavette via Al Hill. To showcase his latest musical offering, the crown-prince of the local folk scene has taken to the road for a 30 date nationwide tour, three CD Release cities (DC, Nashville, Chicago) and three showcases at SXSW. He will return to his adopted hometown of Washington, DC for a CD release show at The Dunes on April 20th.
    “Hope For Us” is a collection of six songs focusing on themes of growth, redemption, and reconciliation. “Bright Lightsʼ, a guitar-driven rocker, is the most overtly autobiographical track on the EP, a tale of new beginnings on the East Coast for this Midwestern native. This is followed by the feel-good duet ʻSimpletonʼ which demonstrates Adrianʼs remarkable musical chemistry with Ms. Starr. The somber but unwavering “Elbow Grease” is an homage to the DIY ethos of the people of New Orleans, while the broody “Hang Up” muses on the age-old questions of why and how far people go in pursuing destructive relationships. These sketches demonstrate Adrianʼs new-found range and maturity, the recollections of a man who has lived, loved and lost, and who has found his calling in the connections he makes with audiences across the country. “This EP is a huge transition in how I write and record”, he explains, adding “I see it as a reflection of the next generation of my music moving forward”.
    ... more

      $7 USD  or more




released April 24, 2012

Produced/Mixed by: Ed Pettersen, Nashville TN.
Mastered by: Bob Olhsson, Nashville TN.
Vocals, Guitar, Songwriting: Adrian Krygowski
Drums: Mike Smirnoff
Bass: Brian "Thumbs" Keating
Piano/Organ/Keys: Al Hill
Backing Vocals: Ed Pettersen, Garrison Starr
Lead Guitar / Steel / Banjo / Mandolin / Dobro / Violin / Viola / Cello: Freddy Holm
Violin: Alissa Taylor
Cello: Dayana Yochim
Recorded July 15 & 16th 2011 at Quad Studios - Jarod Snowden, Nashville TN.
Additional tracking at Dark House Studios - Freddy Holm, Halden Norway, and Blue House Studios - Jason Chmiola, Kensington MD.
Mixing at Elk Dog Studios, Nashville TN - Ed Pettersen.
Art Direction, Design by Gina Miraldi
Photography by: Joshua Black Wilkins



all rights reserved


Adrian Krygowski Chicago, Illinois

contact / help

Contact Adrian Krygowski

Streaming and
Download help